top of page
Buscar
  • Foto do escritorHighland Dance Brasil

Scotland Journey! 

I am at the Glasgow Airport now, returning to Brazil and bringing in the suitcase much more than small souvenirs for my loved ones. I bring with me the certainty that I have much more courage than I have ever imagined. It was the first time I traveled outside Brazil totally alone and with me I brought many expectations and many fears as well. Many! Leaving the family at home was very, very difficult… My arrival in Glasgow was special...I was surprised by the size of the city and the old buildings it has. The Scottish accent of this region is very difficult to understand, but in general everything works out. I dedicated the first few days of the trip to the Scottish dance exam and it was the best thing I did...the exam was not easy at all. It was extremely technical and it was a huge relief to have completed this task in the best way that I could have done. I also got a meeting with RSOBHD and that was a day of walking in Edinburgh, trying to understand how the transportation works in Scotland. Step accomplished, I took my bag and went to the Isle of Bute. Traveling through Scotland is easy, because the train line runs through the main cities and the subway is also easily accessible, in general. To go to the island I took a train and a ferry, and what a ferry... it was an incredible sea trip from Rothesay to Bute. Arriving at the station, I was met by Nikki, who took me to her work studio. It was really cool to see up close the work and dedication that she has with every detail. My admiration for her doubled in size after meeting her in person, truly. I had the opportunity to meet Marian Downes, who is the Irish dance teacher on the island and it was really cool to see what she has developed with those children. Filled my heart. We went to the local radio and gave an interview there. I can say that this was a new experience for me. Nikki announced at live that in addition to being an ambassador for Irish Dance products I was officially an ambassador for Highland Dance as well... I had the opportunity to meet the local ambassadors Harry, Molly, Lucy and Grace and the photos we took will be a memory forever. Everyone welcomed me with open arms and meeting Grace was very special. The day ended with a delicious carbonara pasta and a restorative night's sleep in the flat that was reserved for me. Of all the places I visited in Scotland, the two nights I slept best were in Bute. The next day, I visited the Castle of the island that dates from the 13th century. I was accompanied by Nikki's friend and also a photographer for Highland Dancer, thank you Martin. I have beautiful photos captured by his talent. Three of the Castle's four towers were knocked down and I also visited the dungeon that made me feel very uncomfortable. Later, I went to the Marian Irish Dance class and had the opportunity to teach the children. They are passionate. What an honor for me! We ended the day at Nikki's favorite pub, planning things, drinking and laughing. Her company makes my heart light. On the last day in Bute, Nikki took me to see the island ... special moments with this friend of mine! Leaving Bute was strange, it felt like I had been there for months. It's hard to say goodbye when you don't want to leave. Back in Glasgow I just left the city again to go to Edinburgh to finally see the castle. What a place! Living history of a people who fought and fight for their homeland. The guided audio tour takes you back in time. It is a unique experience. From Edinburgh I went to Glenrothes to visit Sarah Hendry's School and spent incredible hours there, having the opportunity to dance with approximately 15 girls...I was happy what a lovely family she has! Another place that has just received me with open arms... And I still had the privilege of sleeping with Simba, the cat's family who insisted on sleeping with the visitor. Another place I will return to, for sure. I left Glenrothes by train going to Inverness... there's no way to explain what happens in Scotland in a single day. Sun, rain and snow in minutes. What a privilege to be able to admire the beauty that God left there. The arrival in Inverness was the most difficult one, because the small pain that I was feeling in the back evolved to an inflammation and as a result, my left leg hurt a lot carrying weight. I had the opportunity to visit Clarie Bryce's School and teach Highland Dancing to those talents gave me a sense of accomplishment. I will certainly see some of those faces at the Worlds one day! I also met another ambassador named Summer and what a talented girl! The next day I embarked on a 12 hour journey through the Scottish Highlands... I kept thinking: how God took care of me on this trip, how he took care of the details, how he put everyone in my path in all stages of this adventure. Knowing the Highlands was an affection in my heart ...the feeling of belonging I have with that place is inexplicable. It is something from another life, without a doubt. See those green mountains surrounded by rivers and then snow and grass again and snow… We started at Loch Ness, which is incredibly extensive and has an impressive width and volume of water...more than 30 minutes driving by the lake. From there we left for Eilean Donan Castle, which was one day a meeting point for the Jacobites! The main room housed items belonging to Bonnie Prince Charles, such as his dagger and locks of hair. I confess that having a driver and guide sympathetic to the Jacobite cause made the trip even more unforgettable. We crossed the Isle of Skye bridge listening to the Skye boat Song ... how to forget a tour like that? The Isle of Skye is a place that seems to have come out of another world. There is nothing like that.. Portree is the capital of the island and the city is a charm. It is the only place in Scotland where Gaelic is taught as a first language at school. On the Isle of Skye I witnessed sun, rain and snow and then everything again about three times. Cold, very cold, with rain, sun or snow. One of the fairies from that mystical place stole part of my heart and kept it there for me to get back. On the way back to Inverness another totally different landscape...how can there be so much beauty in this world? The next day I went back to Glasgow and on a stretch of the journey there was at least a foot of snow on a stretch of more than an hour by train. Until the last moment I was surprised by new landscapes. Packed suitcases, I went straight to the airport and can't wait to hug my family. Caledonia definitely won my heart. Now I understand a little better why I plunged into the dark in search of specialization in Highland Dancing. It was supposed to be, and somehow, it would be. Thank you God for give me the opportunity of experiencing these incredible days! Manu

34 visualizações0 comentário

Posts recentes

Ver tudo
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page